NC25A Charge Controllers: Maximize Mechanical Power Storage

• Thread starter jtyler05si
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Charge
In summary, the conversation discusses the premise of a project to convert mechanical power into electrical power and store it in powerpacks. This involves using an electrical motor with safe maximum ratings and a charge controller to regulate the voltage to the battery. It is noted that hooking multiple charge controllers in parallel may cause issues and some controllers have the ability to divert excess voltage to another output. The conversation also mentions the need for careful consideration when connecting multiple DC-DC converters in parallel and requests for datasheets for the charge controllers.
jtyler05si
So I am a mechanical engineering student and working on a project. The premise of this project is that there is a mechanical system that outputs anywhere from 300 to 1500 Watts of mechanical power and I want to convert that into electrical power and store it into powerpacks (deep cycle batteries made by a couple companies that have a charger and inverter in its assembly).

So from the mechanical system I want to have an electrical motor with safe maximum ratings that outputs a DC signal through a diode into a charge controller (cheap kind that just uses relays) that knocks the voltage down to ~14V that goes to the battery (which has its own charging system)

The charge controller I am looking at is an NC25A and it can handle up to 130V and 25 Amps. So that means depending on the electric motor I use, I might need multiple charge controllers.

From what little knowledge I have about electric motors is that if more current is being drawn from the motor then the mechanical side will be harder to turn...

So with that if multiple charge controllers are hooked in parallel they will be pulling too much current and if there is only 300W of mechanical power available, the motor won't turn...