N-Body Problem - Initial Values

In summary, a games engineering student is struggling with the N-Body Problem and has implemented basic equations using a leapfrog algorithm. They have two questions regarding calculating the ideal velocity for an orbit and the angular velocity for an N-Body Problem. The current setup includes a stable circular orbit with a sun, earth, and possible addition of more planets. The expert suggests calculating the gravitational parameter and mentions that the exact approach depends on the simulation setup. They also discuss the spin of planets and how it is affected by collisions and other factors.
physxfreak
Hello everyone,
I'm new here so let me introduce myself first:
I'm a games engineering student and my main field is programming

Right now I'm struggeling with the N-Body Problem, well I think actually solved parts of it:
I've implemented the basic equations with a leapfrog algorithm and they seem to be working correctly

Now I have 2 questions:

1.)
When I place a star at a certain position, I want to calculate the ideal velocity in order to produce an orbit. How is this achieved?

2.)
How can I calculate the Angular Velocity for an NBody-Problem?

----------------------------------
My current setup (as reference):

sun (position=0,0,0; mass=333, velocity=0,0,0)
earth(position=-50,0,0, mass=1, velocity=0,0,2)

This is producing a stable circular orbit
It is also possible to add more Earth's/planets with stable orbits
I know that the mass ratio is not quite right, but i want to achieve a "compressed universe"
----------------------------------------

I would appreciate your help on this.

Physics news on Phys.org
Right now I'm struggeling with the N-Body Problem,
everybody does - you realize there is no analytical solution?
well I think actually solved parts of it
...depending on what you mean by "solved" of course :)