My Theoretical Fusion Reactor- Looking For Feedback

In summary, the 16-year-old GCSE student from the UK plans to build a deuterium reactor this Summer, and is seeking help from experienced physicists to determine the viability of his idea. He has two ideas for how to generate high voltages needed for the reactor, but one of them relies on sparks being created by microwaves. He is also concerned about the possible health risks involved in his project, but is determined to continue with it anyway.
Joshua McAnaney
Ok, so before I begin, I'd like to point out that I'm a 16-year-old GCSE student from the UK. Therefore all of my physics knowledge above high school level is self-taught, so I am by no means an expert.

Anyway, I plan on building a deuterium reactor this Summer as a personal project, and I've been going over some various ideas. But I still need some help from experienced physicists to determine the viability of my idea.

Now, most of you are probably familiar with the Farnsworth-Hirsch Fusor. Only their original design did not actually do any fusion. In short, I plan on building a Farnsworth Fusor, only with deuterium thrown into the mix.

In order to generate the high voltages needed, I have a few ideas. My first idea is to use a transformer to step-up 240V mains to a minimum of 20kV, ideally higher, while also slashing the current to around 30mA. That way, if I do manage to electrocute myself, it should just be a "fun experience", rather than a lethal one. Of course, this still won't be ideal for fusion, so I'll add a bridge rectifier to convert the AC to DC, giving it more concentrated power.