Multiple engineering disciplines

In summary, the speaker is currently studying Software Engineering but also has a passion for mechanical systems and electronics. They wonder if it's possible to study multiple fields of engineering, but acknowledge that this may depend on their time and resources. Their main concern is whether they will be accredited and acknowledged in these multiple areas of study, but it's suggested that they talk to their faculty advisor for guidance.
Spy Chicken
I'm currently studying Software Engineering. But I also have a major passion and interest in mechanical systems and electronics (specifically electrodynamics and pretty much anything which involves physics and mathematics). Since I have a giant greed for knowledge, is there a possibility that I could study multiple fields of engineering? Perhaps not simultaneously, but studying another discipline after my initial degree.

Physics news on Phys.org
Spy Chicken said:
I'm currently studying Software Engineering. But I also have a major passion and interest in mechanical systems and electronics (specifically electrodynamics and pretty much anything which involves physics and mathematics). Since I have a giant greed for knowledge, is there a possibility that I could study multiple fields of engineering? Perhaps not simultaneously, but studying another discipline after my initial degree.

It's going to depend on how much time and money you can devote to school.

Things like having a job or a life can get in the way of being a full-time professional student. :eek:

Likes Loststudent22
I suppose my main concern is if I will be accredited and acknowledged in the multiple areas of study.

Spy Chicken said:
I suppose my main concern is if I will be accredited and acknowledged in the multiple areas of study.
If this is what you want, you'll have to attend a school with an accredited engineering program and obtain a degree, especially if you want to practice in another engineering field.