Moving from experimental to theoretical

In summary, a fourth year physics student is concerned about their chances of getting into a grad school for theoretical work, as their current school has limited research in theoretical physics and they are working on an experimental project. They are wondering if keeping high marks in their courses can still lead to a master's degree in a field they have no experience in. They also ask for opinions on coursework versus research-based master's degrees and the importance of programming skills. Some examples of successful transitions from experiment to theory are mentioned.
CoreyJKelly
Hi all,

I'm currently a fourth year physics student, working on my honours degree. The school that I'm at has almost no research happening in theoretical physics, but I've always been more interested in theoretical than experimental physics. For my honours project, I'll be working on something completely experimental (leaning slightly towards biophysics) and I'm wondering if by doing this, I'll be completely eliminating any chance of getting into a grad school for theoretical work. I'm taking courses on quantum mechanics and general relativity, but my school doesn't offer anything such as string theory or quantum field theory. If I can keep my marks high in the courses that I am taking, is it possible that a supervisor will still consider me for a master's degree in a field that I have no experience in?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
CoreyJKelly said:
Hi all,