Motivation in demotivating environment

• Thread starter camillio
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Motivation
In summary, the speaker is a postdoc in CS/Statistics in an EU country, working in academia as a scientist. They are facing issues with lazy and unproductive colleagues, despite being in a prestigious institute. They feel demotivated and are struggling to find purpose in their work. They are considering leaving the institute, but it is not currently an option due to family obligations. Other colleagues who have left the institute have found better opportunities. The speaker is advised to focus on their own work and not worry about others, but also to consider standing up for themselves and finding better job opportunities.
camillio
Hello folks,

I'm a postdoc in CS/Statistics in a small EU country, working in academia as a scientist, no teaching just research. The stupid thing is that our department is the second worst in the (otherwise prestigious) institute, as there are many lazy people around, just procrastinating, doing nothing. Even there are members who have no publications for years, but who are under protection of our chair (surprisingly unlike most active ones).