Motion Problem Using F=Ma and s=ut+1/2xt^2

In summary: I missed that. F= ma so the force will be 10(4)= 40 Newtons straight downward and 10(-3)= -30 Newtons horizontally. The impact force will be [(40)^2+ (-30)^2]1/2= 50 Newtons.
jakan
Firstly, appologies if this is in the wrong place or wrote wrong, total noobie here.

Ive been given some examples of math questions based on aviation, unfortunately this one didn't come with the correct answer or any example working and it seems a little more tricky than the others so I am struggling with where to start and knowing if I am getting decent answers. (Its for an oral examination with a maths element, don't worry the scenaria and numbers I get will be completely unknown to me):

A aircraft is conducting a low-level training supply drop run with the intention of dropping a 10kg package on a target location. The aircraft is at a constant speed of 150ms^-1 at an altitute of 200m.

At package release, the package is subject to a constant acceleration in a downward vertical direction of 4ms^-2 and in the horizontal direction of -3ms^-2 (ie against direction of travel).

At what horizontal distance from target should the package be released and what will the impact force be?

Equations given are F=ma and s=ut+1/2xt^2

Any help or pointing in right direction will be appreciated, other examples used other motion equations I had no issue with.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
jakan said:
Firstly, appologies if this is in the wrong place or wrote wrong, total noobie here.

Ive been given some examples of math questions based on aviation, unfortunately this one didn't come with the correct answer or any example working and it seems a little more tricky than the others so I am struggling with where to start and knowing if I am getting decent answers. (Its for an oral examination with a maths element, don't worry the scenaria and numbers I get will be completely unknown to me):