Who is Dr. Kaku? A Biography of a Fascinating Scientist

• Thread starter fuji
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Biography
In summary, a student at UW Madison is writing about scientist Dr. Kaku for their class and is looking for a biography. It is suggested to read his books, as they contain some information about his background, such as attending Harvard and getting his Ph.D at U of C Berkeley. Dr. Kaku is currently a theoretical physics professor at City College of the City University of New York. He is also the author of nine books and his textbooks are used in top physics labs. A Google search and the link provided are recommended for more information on his background and work.
fuji
Hi, I'm an engineering student at UW Madison. For one of my classes we have to write about a scientist and their accomplishments. I chose Dr. Kaku because he is very interesting to me. While doing my research I found plenty of his work but not much for a biography, I was wondering if there was a place to find a biography for him. Thanks.:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Try reading his books, they usually have a bit of his bio in them.
Page 3 of Hyperspace talks about some of the events that led to his becoming a scientist.
He's a theor. physics professor at City College of the City University of New York and graduated from Harvard and went on to get his Ph.D at U of C Berkeley.
He was 8 in 1955 (Einstein's death year), so it would make him about 56 or 57.
I think he homeschooled his kids or grandkids.

Here's Coast to Coast's version of his bio:
Bio
Michio Kaku, professor of theoretical physics and co-founder of string field theory, is the author of nine books, including the best-selling "Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey Through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the 10th Dimension," and most recently, "Visions: How Science Will Revolutionize the 21st Century." His doctorate-level textbooks are required reading at top physics labs worldwide.