Momentum Problem on Water hose

In summary, the conversation is about a problem involving a hose directing a horizontal jet of water onto a vertical wall. The problem includes finding the force on the wall and the rate of change of momentum as the water hits the wall. The conversation also includes a request for clarification on the second part of the problem.
gidra
It's my first time writing on this forum, hope I'm posting in the correct section.

Problem :

A hose directs a horizontal jet of water on to a vertical wall.

What is the force on the wall, under the above conditions ? Explain.

Thanks for any replies

Physics news on Phys.org
Please post the complete problem exactly as it was given.

A hose directs a horizontal jet of water, moving with a velocity of 20ms^-1, on to a vertical wall. The cross-sectional area of the jet is 5 x 10^-4 m^2. If the density of water is 1000kg m^-3:

a) fin the rate of change of momentum as the water hits the wall, assuming that the water is brought to rest there;

b) what is the force on the wall, under the above conditions? Explain

That's better. Hints for a: How much water hits the wall every second? What's its momentum just before it hits the wall? What's its momentum just after hitting the wall? What's the change in momentum?

I worked out part a, I'm stuck with the theoratic part now. Can't really understand the question. Thanks for your replies btw

I'm not sure I understand. You completed part a? And you're stuck on part b?

Related to Momentum Problem on Water hose

1. What is momentum problem on a water hose?

The momentum problem on a water hose pertains to the force or energy that is created when water is expelled from a hose at a high velocity. This momentum can cause the hose to move or recoil in the opposite direction, which can be dangerous if not handled properly.

2. How is momentum calculated for a water hose?