Help With Physics: Is E=MC2 Just F=MA?

• Thread starter Newbie
  • Start date
Summary: In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between E=MC2 and F=MA. The person asks if they are the same and if C^2 is just a theoretical acceleration of the speed of light, similar to how A is an acceleration in F=MA. The answer is no, as energy and force cannot be directly converted and C^2 has units of velocity squared, not acceleration.
I'm not very good at physics and I was wondering if someone could help me..

My question is:- Is E=MC2 just F=MA?

E and F are the same since one can be converted to the other.. M is the same.. Is the C^2 just the theoretical acceleration of the speed of light, just like the A is an acceleration in F=MA?

Physics news on Phys.org
No.

1) Energy and force cannot be converted directly from one to the other.

2) c2 does not have units of acceleration (m/s2) -- it has units of velocity squared (m2/s2).

- Warren

Edit:
Fixed your bold tag

Integral

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What does E=MC2 mean?

E=MC2 is an equation that represents the relationship between energy (E), mass (M), and the speed of light (C) squared. This equation was developed by Albert Einstein as part of his theory of special relativity.

2. How is E=MC2 different from F=MA?

E=MC2 and F=MA represent different concepts in physics. E=MC2 relates to the relationship between energy and mass, while F=MA relates to the relationship between force, mass, and acceleration. The two equations cannot be compared or interchanged with each other.

3. Is E=MC2 always true?

Yes, E=MC2 is a fundamental law of physics and is always true. However, it only applies to objects traveling at the speed of light, which is not possible for objects with mass. It is more commonly used for calculations involving nuclear reactions and the conversion of matter into energy.

4. How is E=MC2 used in practical applications?