Modeling CO2 Laser as a 4-Level Laser

• Thread starter chimay
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Laser
In summary, the CO2 laser and the generic four level laser described in the first picture both have four levels, but the radiative transition in the CO2 laser is between levels 3 and 2, while in the first picture it is between levels 2 and 1. Additionally, the CO2 laser also has non-optically active transitions between levels 3 and 2 due to collisions in the gas.
chimay
I am not sure this is the right place where I should post, I hope I've chosen the right section.

I'm studying laser's fundamentals on Svelto's "Principles of Lasers". Here I find the description of a generic four level laser by means of rate equations; it can be represented like this: (first picture)

Then, I read that the CO2 laser, whose basic scheme is in the second picture, can be modeled as a four-levele laser too; I don't understand why this is true. In the CO2 laser the radiative transition is between level 3 and 2, while in the first photo it is between 2 and 1. Moreover, level n.3 in the first picture should be pratically empty, while in the CO2 laser it isn't so.

Can anyone explain me how I can model a CO2 laser like a four-level laser like the one in the first picture?

Thanks.

Attachments

• Laser4LivelliBuono.png
    Laser4LivelliBuono.png
    1.4 KB · Views: 567
  • Livelli energetici laser CO2.png
    Livelli energetici laser CO2.png
    4.2 KB · Views: 624
Physics news on Phys.org
I am not a laser expert, but maybe this helps. The pictures are describing somewhat different processes. The CO2 laser is a four level system:

v0: ground state
v1: symmetric vibrational mode
v2: bending mode
v3: anti-symmetric vibrational mode