Modeling and simulating a 2D Turbulent flow

In summary, the individual is new to the science of turbulence and fluids and is looking for a way to model and simulate a scenario involving a flow affected by a spatially varying magnetic field and current. They are comfortable with MATLAB and Java and are seeking a textbook or software to assist in their first time simulations. Some suggested resources include a paper from Google, the use of Ansys, and the use of REDUCE.
jamalkoiyess
Hello PF,

I am new to the science of turbulence and fluids but recently I have been working with my professor on 2D steady state turbulence and I was looking for a way to model and simulate this scenario:
I have a flow affected by a spatially varying magnetic field and having a current pass by it. I want to see how the fluid behaves under the usual magnetohydrodynamics laws.

This is an absolutely first time for me in simulations. A textbook wouldn't be bad but if some kind of ready software exists it would be better.
I am comfortable with both MATLAB and Java.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
jamalkoiyess said:
Hello PF,

I am new to the science of turbulence and fluids but recently I have been working with my professor on 2D steady state turbulence and I was looking for a way to model and simulate this scenario:
I have a flow affected by a spatially varying magnetic field and having a current pass by it. I want to see how the fluid behaves under the usual magnetohydrodynamics laws.

This is an absolutely first time for me in simulations. A textbook wouldn't be bad but if some kind of ready software exists it would be better.
I am comfortable with both MATLAB and Java.

Thanks.

Google is your friend:
https://www.ann-geophys.net/25/779/2007/angeo-25-779-2007.pdf
https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/4591202/

Using Ansys:
http://www.journal.ftn.kg.ac.rs/Vol_11-2/01-Naceur-Kadid-Abdessemed.pdf

Using REDUCE:
https://arxiv.org/pdf/1502.06666.pdf

Likes jamalkoiyess