Modal amplitudes of circular plate

In summary: Your name]In summary, the conversation discusses a final year acoustics student in the UK who is attempting to model the modal response of a circular plate for their thesis. They are struggling with expanding and factorising the biharmonic laplacian and have already spent a significant amount of time on it. The summary also suggests reaching out to their supervisor or other experts for guidance and support in solving the problem.
trimboone
Hi all,

I'm a final year acoustics student in the UK attempting to model the modal response of a circular plate as part of my thesis.

Essentially, i have this equation :

4WUuZ.jpg

and I am trying to deal with the left term of the LHS.

7qHK8.jpg

I'm trying to find out whether the full version of the biharmonic laplacian Jm(..)cos(..) can be expanded and factorised to be in terms of Jm(..) x cos(..) x (everythingelse!) as i am trying to solve the above equation for Amn

In this form my theory will work but the actual derivation of the biharmonic laplacian using trigonometric functions and bessel functions together is killing me, I've already wasted a good 2 weeks trying this!

Can anyone help?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Dear student,

First of all, congratulations on reaching the final year of your studies and taking on such a challenging topic for your thesis. The modal response of a circular plate is a complex and important area of study in acoustics, and it's great to see that you are tackling it head on.

In regards to your question about expanding and factorising the biharmonic laplacian, I can understand the frustration you are facing. This is a common problem faced by many researchers in the field, and it is not surprising that it has taken up a significant amount of your time.