Mod. arithmetic in mathematica

In summary: In the equation 11x=1 (mod 360), the number x is the result of multiplying 11 and 360 together. To get x, we have to find the modular inverse of 11, which is 131.If Mathematica doesn't have a modular inverse function, the extended Euclidean algorithm can be used. This algorithm works by solving for u and v such that 11u + 360v = 1. Once u is found, v can be seen to be the inverse of 11 mod 360.If Mathematica doesn't have the extended Euclidean algorithm, another solution is to write a function that implements the algorithm.
heartless
Hello,
I'm not very experienced with mathematica, and I have some problems in making an equation like this,
Find x such that 11x = 1 (mod 360) and x < 360.
Any ideas on how to input this into mathematica?
Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
or at least tell me how to find x?

actually x equals 131. It took me quite a few minutes to brute force it though (trial and error). I'm working out a formula now.

AFAIK, you have to do the solving yourself. :frown: But at least you can still get Mathematica to do the computation...

The whole problem boils down to finding the modular inverse of 11, modulo 360. That is, the number a such that 11a = 1 (mod 360).

Mathematica might have a modular inverse function.

If not, the normal way to compute modular inverses is through the extended Euclidean algorithm for GCD's... Mathematica ought to have that!

This algorithm gives you the numbers u and v such that 11u + 360v = 1, so u is easily seen to be the inverse of 11 modulo 360. (Of course, this only works because GCD(11, 360) = 1)

If Mathematica doesn't have that, I think the easiest solution is to write a function that implements the extended Eucllidean algorithm. :smile:

But if you really don't want to, you could still manage something with modular exponentiation, since:

11^EulerPhi[360] = 1 (mod 360)