Missing thing while solving physics problems

In summary: Arman777. In summary, solving physics problems requires practice and developing a passion for the subject. It is important to analyze problems conceptually first and then use math to find a solution. Visualizing problems can also be helpful. It is normal to forget things, but with practice and perseverance, it becomes easier to solve problems.
Arman777
Insights Author
Gold Member
I am trying to solve some physics problems but sometimes I miss some stuff.Like in the logical part sometimes I forget to include some force or things like that.I am a freshman student.
Is it improve over time (to see the missing part that I couldn't see ) or ıt depends the question number that I solve ?

It may sound stupid question but its important for me

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello Arman777,
It is normal to forget but in physics, try to develop passion for the subject. Also, once you start handling a problem, if you can derive formulas from first principles. If not, just keep your focus there so that you do not forget
Regards

Likes Arman777
Arman777 said:
I am trying to solve some physics problems but sometimes I miss some stuff.Like in the logical part sometimes I forget to include some force or things like that.I am a freshman student.
Is it improve over time (to see the missing part that I couldn't see ) or ıt depends the question number that I solve ?

It may sound stupid question but its important for me

Thank you

From "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences" 2nd Ed. by Mary Boas:

The only way to learn to solve problems is to solve problems.

It means that you have to practice, practice, and practice till (i) you learn from your mistakes and (ii) you get a feel for that type of problems.

There are no short cuts.

Zz.

Likes Dr. Courtney and jedishrfu
ZapperZ said:
From "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences" 2nd Ed. by Mary Boas: