Mediators and propagators of particle interactions

In summary, the field is quantized at all points, and real photons do in fact deliver energy, but they are not what the friend was talking about.
valleyman
hello I'm studying nuclear physics and I have a lot of questions which I can't figure out.
The first thing has been thrown in my mind by a colleague of mine about propagators of particle interactions. It has been said that, for example, photons are the mediators for the electromagnetic interaction: what does it mean exactly? Does a resting charge continuosly emit an infinite number of photons all over the surrounding space? And if so, as photons should bring energy, doesn't this mean that the charge is losing its energy? I know that this can't be true but this means I didn't understand well the point. Or does it emit photons just when another charge is present? Wouldn't that mean that the electric field is "activated" just in presence of other charges, when I thought it was a intrinsic property of the charge?

Thanks for the help, valleyman

P.S. I'd appreciate a lot some links to *simple/basic* articles or lessons talking about this argument (interactions, propagators, Feynamnn diagrams and so on..)

Physics news on Phys.org
For static charges a physical gauge like Coulomb gauge is most appropriate. In such a physical gauge you will find a static Coulomb potential. In the radiation gauge it looks like if static charges radiate, but is is not a physical process but a matehmatical artefact.

Perhaps it makes sense to merge this discussion with https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=405604

thanks for the help but I'm sorry to say that I still can't understand the answer to my question...

valleyman said:
hello I'm studying nuclear physics and I have a lot of questions which I can't figure out.