Mech Engineering Doubts - Get Advice Here!

In summary, the conversation is about a person studying mechanical engineering for 2 years who is unsure if their program is good enough. They ask about common subjects taught in ME programs and list courses such as calculus, differential equations, statistics, chemistry, physics, technical communications, statics, dynamics, and thermodynamics. The conversation also mentions courses such as heat transfer, fluid dynamics, mechanics of material lab, engineering materials, advanced thermodynamics, manufacturing process, kinematics of machines, design of mechanical elements, and senior project. A link to a specific ME program curriculum is also provided.
DanielSauza
Hello, I've been studying mech engineering for the past 2 years but over the past month I've been reading about other people's ME program and I'm not sure if mine is good enough.

Would anyone be kind enough to tell me what subjects you took or are taught commonly during ME?

Also, sorry for my english, it's not my first languaje.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Calculus 1-3
Differential Equations
Statistics
Ours includes a course on Partial Differential Equations called Applied Mathematics but a lot of programs don't require that

Chemistry 1-2
Physics 1-2

Technical communications (basically a public speaking course designed to teach you how to present technical things)

Statics
Strength of Materials
Dynamics
Thermodynamics
Heat Transfer
Fluid Dynamics
Mechanics of Material Lab
Engineering Materials
Advanced Thermodynamics
Manufacturing process
Kinematics of Machines
Design of Mechanical Elements
Senior Project

http://www.me.sc.edu/academic programs/bs curriculum/2012.pdf

Last edited:

Related to Mech Engineering Doubts - Get Advice Here!

1. What is mechanical engineering?