Measuring the polariztion of a pair of entangled photons

In summary, the conversation discusses the experiment of two entangled photons passing through linear polarizers and detectors. The apparatus connected to the detectors should be in a superposition of detecting one or both photons. The method used to find the coefficients is described, using the eigenvectors and observables associated with the polarizers. The resulting amplitudes are then used to explain the correlation between the two detectors, which is found to be sinusoidal. The question is raised about the validity of the argument, as the eigenvectors may not accurately represent the state of the system.
Cylten
Hi,

I'm quite new to quantum mechanics, learning about it in my free time in a life-long learning fashion :) I've been trying to find a solution to a problem for some time, and the results I included below appear to be OK, but I have doubts about the method I used, so any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

I imagine the following experiment: suppose there is a source that emits two entangled photons along the z axis, A and B, both linearly polarized, but in an orthogonal direction. Photon A encounters a linear polarizer aligned with the x and y axes and a detector behind it. Photon B encounters a linear polarizer rotated by ##\phi## related to the first one and another detector behind it. There is some apparatus, C, connected to both detectors. I think after the experiment, the apparatus should be in a superposition of detecting one, the other, both, or neither photons:
$$ |C\rangle = x\left|C_{A\&B}\right> + y\left|C_A\right>+ z\left|C_B\right>+ w\left|C_0\right>. $$
I'm trying to find the coefficients (amplitudes) x, y, z and w, and I know the order in which the photons interact with the polarizers and detectors should not matter.

I've tried various ways to do this, and the most promising was the following: