Maximum Distance a Projectile Moves Up an Inclined Plane

In summary, the conversation is about a physics problem that involves finding the maximum value of a function by differentiating it. The questioner is stuck at the differentiation step and is looking for help. However, they mention that they are not taking calculus along with physics and are self-taught, so they do not have the necessary knowledge to solve the problem. The other participants offer advice and resources for learning calculus. The conversation ends with the realization that calculus is essential for understanding and solving physics problems.
EnricoHendro
Homework Statement
A projectile is fired up an incline (incline angle θ) with an initial speed V[SUB]0[/SUB] at an angle φ with respect to the horizontal (φ > θ) as shown in Figure P4.86.
(a) Show that the projectile travels a distance, d, up the incline, where :
Relevant Equations
##\displaystyle d=\dfrac{2{V_0}^2 \cos\theta \sin(\theta-\phi)}{g^2 \cos^2 \phi}##
(Edited by Mentor emeritus)
Screen Shot 2020-02-27 at 5.51.30 PM.png

1582801061241.png the red line is the initial velocity, the grey parabola is the path of the projectile.

hi there...I'm kinda stuck at the part b of this problem. I can do part a with no problem.
can anybody explain to me how to do the differentiation needed to solve part b?? by explain I mean explain the steps, not just showing the results. Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Consider ##d=f(\theta)## and differentiate with respect to ##\theta##. An example:
$$\frac{d}{d\theta}\left(a\sin(\theta)\right)=a\cos(\theta)$$
You need to find:
$$\frac{d}{d\theta}\left( \frac{2v_0^2}{g^2\cos^2(\phi)}\cos(\theta)\sin(\theta-\phi) \right)$$
Any term that does not involve ##\theta## is to be treated as a constant.
You should know what it means to maximize ##d(\theta)##, right?

archaic said:
Consider ##d=f(\theta)## and differentiate with respect to ##\theta##. An example: