Maximizing Grad School Chances with Cosmology Focus

In summary, the individual is a recent physics graduate with a mediocre GPA who is interested in studying cosmology. They are planning to take the PGRE next fall and are currently working in a different field, but are concerned about not having research experience in cosmology before applying to graduate school. They are considering taking courses in cosmology while pursuing a practical field for their PhD. The conversation also includes personal opinions and advice on the matter.
ThereIam
Hi all,

I think this is probably the only decent question I've come up with about how to handle my future.

I really, really want to study cosmology.

I am a recent graduate (graduated in May) with a BA in physics. My GPA is mediocre - 3.5 in the major and overall. I'm sort of banking on (stupid, I know) killing the PGRE to shine. Or at least not bombing it. I will take it next fall (I have already begun studying).

My only research experience is the work I do now - I work in R&D for a company where most of my work pertains to optics and materials science. I committed to be here until late summer of next year, and I will not break my word. I will be applying to schools in the next fall.

I am intimidated by the perception that there isn't actually a lot of work to be had for those interested in cosmology (not after my graduate degree - I accept that, and it doesn't change what I want to study - I mean work I could get right now). I wonder if I am hurting myself by not actively pursuing work closer to my goals before applying to graduate school. I want to demonstrate my interest, but I don't know how!

What am I to do??

Any advice is appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org