Maximal static friction problem

In summary, the question discussed the concept of minimum force needed to move a stationary object, which is equal to the maximum static friction force. However, the question posed a scenario with a sloped surface and an object moving upwards, causing confusion about the minimal static friction constant needed for the object to remain stationary. Newton's first law states that an object at rest will remain at rest unless acted upon by an external force, leading to the conclusion that the force needed to keep the object from moving should be greater than the maximum static friction force. However, the book used by the individual states that the minimal force needed to cause relative movement between two bodies in contact is equal to the maximum static friction force. There is a discrepancy between this statement and Newton
Black Riven
This is mostly a theoretical question, I'm studying mechanics by myself so I have no teacher to ask this.

Homework Statement

The minimum force needed to move a stationary object is equal to the max static friction. However, I just encountered a question that included a sloped surface and an object moving upwards across it.

Eventually, mgcos(a)+Fk bring it to a halt, and the question is what should the minimal static friction constant be in order for the object to remain stationary.

The Attempt at a Solution

Fs must be strong enough to hold out against mgcos(a). The equation we are supposed to have is Fs-mgcos(a)=0
However, this confuses me. If when a force applied on the object equals to Fs(max) it causes it to move, Shouldn't the force needed to keep the object from moving be Fs>mgcos(a)?

In other words, is Fs(max) the breaking point or the last point before movement occurs?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It sounds like the question should read "minimal static friction constant"

Black Riven said:
The minimum force needed to move a stationary object is equal to the max static friction.