Matlab ODE45: solving with coefficients that are functions of time

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of solving a second order ODE using Matlab's ODE solvers. The user first solves a 2nd order ODE to determine x(t), x'(t), and x''(t), and then uses these solutions to calculate two coefficients that are functions of time for a second, second order ODE. However, the output solution for the second ODE is a vector of NaN's. After some troubleshooting, the user realizes that the issue lies with the coefficient calculation, not the ODE solver. They fix the issue by indexing the coefficients as a function of time in the ODE function.
hasidim
Hello all,

I am new to the ODE solvers in Matlab and am trying to learn:

First, I am solving a 2nd order ODE to determine x(t), x'(t), and x''(t). No problem. Then, I am using these solutions to calculate two coefficients (that are functions of time) that are used in a second, second order ODE. The output solution is a vector of NaN's.

To explain... the first ODE script:

Code:
% Initial Conditions:
x10 = x0;  %x0 is some initial value
x20 = 0;  
tspan = linspace(0,tmax+dt, tmax/dt+1);

% Solve ODE
[t,x] = ode23('ode', tspan, [x10,x20]);

and first ODE function (where c1 and c2 are arbitrary, constant coefficients):

Code:
function xp = ode(t,x)
xp = zeros(2,1);
xp(1) = x(2); 
xp(2) = c2*x(1)-c1*x(2)

So now I have solutions for x(t), x'(t), x"(t) (that I name x, xp, xp2 respectively).

Ok, so no problem until I get to the second ODE. Following the same approach:

Script:
Code:
% Initial Conditions:
a10 = a0;  %a0 is some initial value
a20 = 0;  
tspan = linspace(0,tmax+dt, tmax/dt+1);

% Solve ODE
[t,a] = ode23('ode2', tspan, [a10,a20]);

ODE function:

Code:
function ap = ode2(t,a)

K1 = xp2./x;
K2 = xp1./x; % the length of K1 and K2 is the length of x from solution above

ap = zeros(2,1);
ap(1) = a(2); 
ap(2) = K2*a(1)+ K1*a(2)