Matlab code for solving complex numbers

In summary, the conversation was about solving a complex number equation for character impedance using MATLAB. The issue was with the indexing and parentheses in the code, and the correct operators and parentheses were suggested. A sample code was also provided for a range of values.
Kayne
Hi All,

I have been trying to solve a complex number equation for character impedance with MATLAB but it continues to tell me that "indexing must appear last on index addressing". I am new to MATLAB so I think that my code is wrong.

What I am using is

complex sqrt (R+jwL)(G+jwC)

The values for R,w,L,G,C I add in when putting it into matlab.

is complex the right word to be using here?

The equation that I am trying to solve is

[tex]y=sqrt(R+jwL)(G+jwC)[/tex]

Physics news on Phys.org
Kayne said:
Hi All,

I have been trying to solve a complex number equation for character impedance with MATLAB but it continues to tell me that "indexing must appear last on index addressing". I am new to MATLAB so I think that my code is wrong.

What I am using is

complex sqrt (R+jwL)(G+jwC)
I'm not sure what you mean by the above. As you have it, and using mathematical symbols, it means this:
[tex]\sqrt{R + jwL}(G + jwC)[/tex]

I suspect that you want the square root of the product, which would look like this:
[tex]\sqrt{(R + jwL)(G + jwC)}[/tex]

If that's the case, then using another pair of parentheses might be the fix.
complex sqrt ((R+jwL)(G+jwC))

Kayne said:
The values for R,w,L,G,C I add in when putting it into matlab.

is complex the right word to be using here?

The equation that I am trying to solve is

[tex]y=sqrt(R+jwL)(G+jwC)[/tex]

Might this be the equation you're trying to solve?
[tex]y=\sqrt{(R+jwL)(G+jwC)}[/tex]

You need to use operators for multiplying. i.e i*w*C (matrix multiplication) or i.*w.*L for elementwise operation.

Also, what Mark said. Use parentheses.

It would help us out a lot if you posted your code.

Code: