Improvising with Flash: Math Tutorial Design

• Thread starter recon
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Flash
In summary, someone has started learning Flash and needs help with a project. There are several resources available on the internet for beginners.
recon
Hello all,

I am designing a tutorial in Mathematics for school. This tutorial has to be done in Flash.

There is this java applet online that I would very much like to use. Here it is: http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/java/shm/shm.html

I would like to draw something very similar to those strings and circle in Flash. Please, could someone help me?

I just started learning to use Flash two days ago and I've only just been acquainted with the basics such as tweening, but I already have a rudimentary idea of how the program works.

Last edited by a moderator:
Computer science news on Phys.org
Well, I AM a very-slow-to-catch-on Beginner.

I just found another site: http://actionscript-toolbox.com/mathobject.php

The Flash animation of the sine curve being drawn looks really good. However, when I downloaded the source and opened it it seemed that it wasn't done as a movie (it wasn't done frame by frame). Now, I would really like to export this particular animation into .avi format. Is this possible? How do I manipulate the source so that it shows the sine curve being drawn frame by frame? If it is too difficult for beginners, could someone please help me to do just this as I desperately need it as soon as possible. Thank you.

[EDIT: This is not homework if you are wondering. It's for a tutorial (being done as a video) I want to design for a mathematics project. Go to the General Math Section to see more]

Last edited:
Of course it wasn't done frame by frame. It's too darn inefficient. I don't think you'll have enough time to learn actionscript and do the project. You should just download to flash videos and use this program to convert to avi:

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/swf2avi.html

Last edited by a moderator: