Maths requirements for aerospace engineering

In summary, your footing with others shouldn't be that much different after one year. Most university students in engineering have only taken differential and integral calculus by that point, so it isn't like you are that far behind. As long as you are comfortable with taking calculus, then I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to do it.
lntz
Hello,

right now I am a first year architecture student in the UK, but I'm really not enjoying my course as much as i'd thought I would. I think I surprised my family when I chose this path, as they all assumed I would do something either in science or engineering.

Anyway, I am considering changing disciplines and am willing to go back to first year etc to make this happen.

I am looking into the fields of aerospace engineering - my current university offers the course so I would not have to worry about changing housing arrangements that have already been made, but I am interested in hearing about what the maths content is likely to be.

I did maths, physics and chemistry at A-level so I think I am capable of applying myself to the subject, but most of my maths is a bit rusty since geometry and statics are what I use on a day to day basis on my course.

So, do you think it would be a shock to my system to change disciplines, or would refreshing my memory over summer be enough to get me on an even footing with everyone else? I have help available at home from my stepdad, so I wouldn't have to learn things by myself.

Anyway, sorry for the long and rather vague question, but I'm really just looking to enquier about the level my maths should be at before I begin such a course.

Thanks in advance for any replies,

Lntz.

Physics news on Phys.org