Maths for Postgraduate String Theory: Analysis, Algebra, or Topology?

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in string theory and their question about which area of mathematics would be most beneficial for pursuing it. They also mention the importance of topology and ask about the difference between obtaining a qualification in mathematical physics or theoretical physics. The mention of Calabi-Yau space suggests that the field of mathematics relevant for string theory may involve this concept.
mitcho
I admit I don't know anything about string theory (nobody really does at an undergraduate level) but it sounds interesting and seems like something challenging. I am majoring in physics and maths but I am getting to the point in my undergraduate studies where I can begin to specialize more in my maths subjects. So my question is, what area of maths is the most beneficial to peruse this, analysis, algebra or something else? I hear topology is fairly important but that begs the same question, differential or algebraic?

On a related note, would I be better to have an official qualification in "mathematical physics" or "theoretical physic"?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org

Related to Maths for Postgraduate String Theory: Analysis, Algebra, or Topology?

1. What is the importance of studying Maths for Postgraduate String Theory?

The study of Mathematics is crucial for understanding the complex concepts and equations involved in Postgraduate String Theory. It provides a framework for analyzing and solving problems related to this field.

2. What are the main areas of Maths that are relevant for Postgraduate String Theory?

The main areas of Mathematics that are relevant for Postgraduate String Theory include Analysis, Algebra, and Topology. These fields provide the necessary tools and techniques for understanding and manipulating the mathematical equations involved in this theory.