Mathematics + Second Major (Microbiology or CS)?

In summary, the undergraduate physics major found that their current undergraduate project in computational virology has got them interested in microbiology. They concluded that they will pursue a second major in either a microbiology or a computer science major, as their future career would be in the applied mathematics in biology or a computational biology. They initially decided to pursue a CS major but later decided that a microbiology major would be a good synergy with their mathematics major. They think that there is advantages and disadvantages to either approach. If they did not have a degree in mathematics, they would likely pursue a degree in computer science or microbiology.
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum personnel,

I am an undergraduate pursuing a major in the mathematics. My current undergraduate project in the computational virology really got me interested in the worlds of microbiology. The project involves both the biology and computer science, which is specifically about the development of novel machine-learning algorithms to predict the evolutionary trend of viruses and future genetic make-up. I concluded that I will pursue a second major in either a microbiology or a computer science major, as my future career would be in the applied mathematics in biology or a computational biology.

I initially decided to pursue a CS major since my work involves the programming and subjects like artificial intelligence, but I started to feel that all advanced works in CS involve a lot of mathematics, and that the strong background in mathematics is perhaps what is really needed, and it can replace the CS. The microbiology major seems to be a good option but I am not good with the traditional "wet" lab approach to it.

Which major (CS or microbiology) will be a good synergy with my mathematics major?

Physics news on Phys.org