Mathematica: Listplot & Non linear fitting

In summary: But I'll give it a try. Maybe I can figure out how the fitting works while I'm at it.I've read the helpfile, and I think I understand how to use FindFit. I just need to figure out how to write the function that I want to fit to the data. I'll play around with it some more and see if I can get it to work. Thanks for your help so far!
Verdict
Good day,
I am relatively new to mathematica, and I am using it to fit a formula to a dataset that I have. To begin with, I am having issues with a very simple part, namely with a ListPlot.

I have an xls file with 2 columns and 26 rows, corresponding to an x and a y value. Using import, I neatly get these into mathematica. However, when I use listplot, all I get is an empty plot, ranging between -1 and 1 for both the x and the y scale. I must be doing something simple wrong, but I honestly can't figure out what it is.
If needed, the xls can be uploaded somewhere, but I am not allowed to post links yet.

Now, the next part I haven't really tried too much with yet, but it is giving me cringes even trying to think about it. I have a formula in the form of
W^((A/a)*(1-e^(-a*t))), where A and a are parameters that have to be fitted, t is the x from the datalist and the output is the y from the datalist. W is a constant, that is determined outside of mathematica. Could anyone maybe point me to a tutorial or guide on how to get me started with this?

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Verdict said:
I have an xls file with 2 columns and 26 rows, corresponding to an x and a y value. Using import, I neatly get these into mathematica. However, when I use listplot, all I get is an empty plot, ranging between -1 and 1 for both the x and the y scale. I must be doing something simple wrong, but I honestly can't figure out what it is.
If needed, the xls can be uploaded somewhere, but I am not allowed to post links yet.