Math major, need career and schooling advice

In summary: We just don’t know what to do with it.”In summary, the manager is confused by the findings in the report and wants someone else to take a look.
Maurice7510
I'm majoring in math (2nd year) right now at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Ontario. I'm considering switching to a bigger/more well known school that has more credit in the real world. I want to be employable immediately when I graduate, and having an Honours in math from Lakehead to me feels about as practical as ... well it doesn't seem practical at all. I feel that if I had an Honours from a school that people of heard of, they might be more inclined to hire me.
I initially intended to go for my Ph. D. but upon further investigation, realize that there aren't many jobs from that point. I was thinking about becoming an actuary, but I was also considering switching programs into engineering. I don't really know which is better. Something I should clear up, however, is that I would like a career involving math, but to be honest, my main concern is money. I wouldn't mind doing less math for more money. This is where 'actuary' comes in; apparently if one works as an actuary for over 9 or 10 years, they can make upwards of 150K.
I think what I'm getting at is that I don't want to waste any time. I'm willing to do a ridiculous amount of work, under the condition that it pays off sooner than later. If anyone has any advice on what I should do, pertaining to switching schools or future jobs, please let me know.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Being in Canada complicates things; they tend to turn out a very large number of Act Science grads compared with the job market. Lots of people do still get jobs, but the number that don't is higher on your side of the border than on mine (I'm in the US) and the requirements to get considered are higher.