Math Education for the Physics Major

In summary: Taking an actual class in mathematical methods? I don't want to be caught unprepared in graduate school.In summary, the freshman physics major is considering whether or not to take Advanced Calculus this spring quarter. He is also considering his options for taking mathematics classes in the next quarter. He is worried that taking more advanced classes will lower his GPA, but he also wants to be prepared for graduate school. He has decided to take a few other classes as well, but is worried about not being prepared for graduate school if he does not take Advanced Calculus.
PhysicsWiz4
Dear PF, I've been a lurker for about a year now and decided I needed a bit more advice:

I'm a freshman physics major getting ready to pick classes for this spring quarter.
So far I've taken/taking:

Fall:
Multivariable Calculus: A
Honors Intro Mechanics: A

Winter:
Vector Calculus
Linear Algebra
Honors Intro SR and Thermo

Next quarter I'm going to take basic Differential Equations, the last mathematics course required by my major. However, having relatively few math courses under my belt makes me uneasy. I hope to be a competitive graduate school applicant, but I also want to be prepared for graduate school. My impression is that the two are mutually exclusive to a degree.

Background:
My math grades were poor in high school, ranging from a C- to a B at best. I was in the honors track all four years, advised to leave it because of my grades, but stuck with it out of stubbornness.
I didn't know what "physics" was until my senior year, when I chose to take AP Physics C as my first physics course (skipping the prerequisite) because I wanted to be with my friends. I also heard that since calculus was involved, it might help Calc BC topics stick.
I learned that "physics" referred to all that had interested me my whole life (QM, SR, E&M, etc), and the calculus basis led to my first A in math. :smile:

The Dilemma: