Masters: Most Employable area to specialize in?

In summary: Structure/vibrations is a great area to specialize in as long as you're prepared to learn new things constantly and keep up with the latest technologies. Structural dynamics is a very dynamic and rapidly changing field, so if you want to stay employed for a long time, specializing in this area is a good idea.
keithmregan
I have an bachelor of science in Music Technology from Drexel. I am no longer interested in working as an audio engineer. I have been considering a masters in mechanical engineering for some time.

I realize that a masters is more specific and not as broad as an undergrad in mechanical engineering. I have to carefully decide what area to specialize in because I don't want to put myself in a situation where I can only get one kind of job.

In general, what is the best area to specialize in in terms of job availability and pay(especially for someone WITHOUT an engineering undergrad)? I know you can choose mechanics, controls or thermal and fluid sciences at Drexel. At Villanova you can just taylor the degree and pick the courses you want.

If I choose thermal and fluid sciences what kind of jobs might I be able to land?

I don't think that I am interested in controls. Mechanics is also not as appealing to me as thermal and fluid sciences, but nothing is set in stone at this point.

I am just reaching out and trying to gather information from people in the industry and I really appreciate any advice and guidance. I don't want to go through getting a masters and then not be able to find a job.

Thanks in advance!

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you're worried about employment, why not work out what your best university course would be based on the job you wish to spend 30 years doing, rather than work out what job you can do based on 1 year's study?