Masters before PhD improving chances of admission?

In summary, the speaker is a recent MIT graduate with a double major in physics and ChemE, but with a GPA lower than what is typically seen in physics majors. They are also in the navy and won't be able to start a PhD until 2013. The speaker is considering doing a masters in applied physics at Johns Hopkins while in the navy and is wondering if this could compensate for their lower GPA when applying for PhD programs. The group suggests that recent academic performance is given more weight than older data, and excelling in a masters program and having research experience could improve the speaker's chances for a PhD program.
dsboone
Hi Everyone,

I graduated from MIT in June as a double in physics and ChemE, but with a GPA of 3.1/4. I'm published and I have research experience, but my GPA still doesn't measure up to what I've seen other physics majors compete with. Add to that I'm in the navy and won't be able to start a PhD until 2013. I was thinking about doing a masters in applied physics (no thesis) at Johns Hopkins while I'm in the navy. Do you think better academic performance as a masters student would compensate for my low-ish GPA?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your recent academic performance - good or bad - is usually given much stronger weight than older data. Take that FWIW. If nothing else, it could give you an immediate route for continuing your education.

If you do really well in your Masters program, it'll show PhD programs that you are able to handle graduate level courses. That, along with research experience, should improve your chances.

Related to Masters before PhD improving chances of admission?

1. What is the difference between a Master's degree and a PhD?