Making a solar powered battery with AC power socket

In summary, making a solar-powered battery with an AC power socket involves using a solar panel to convert sunlight into electrical energy, which is then stored in a battery. The battery can be connected to an AC power socket, allowing devices to be powered using the stored energy. This process is environmentally friendly and can provide a reliable source of power in areas without access to traditional electricity sources.
JoeSalerno
It's mid summer and I think I need a project to keep busy. What better than a solar project? Problem is, I've never built a solar circuit before, let alone a battery charger. Ideally, I would like to build the equivalent of a solar powered generator. I know there's no way I'm getting as much power as a gas generator, but it'd be fun project. I would hope to wire in an American standard wall outlet to power whatever gets plugged in. Would it be possible to put in a battery charge monitor as well? My experience with electronics lies in the realm of novice. I've done some electrical work, but by no means would I consider myself too knowledgeable. Is what I'm proposing unrealistic for my skill level, or is it doable? Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
JoeSalerno said:
Is what I'm proposing unrealistic for my skill level, or is it doable? Thanks in advance.

maybe

JoeSalerno said:
Problem is, I've never built a solar circuit before, let alone a battery charger.

do you have any significant electronics construction experience ... if you answer is no, then my maybe answer in the first bit would be changed to no
not without some close hands on mentoring help

line up of modules required...

Solar panel(s) with suitable battery charging capability ( depends on battery capacity) ---- > solar charge controller unit ---> battery(s) ------ DC to AC inverterDave

Likes berkeman
davenn said:
maybe