Magnetic field created by a current carrying wire

In summary: Sure, no problem. It is the ends. At one end you have current flowing out of nowhere and at the other end you have current flowing into nowhere. That appearing and disappearing current is the problem since current needs to either travel in loops or start/end in a place where charge is conserved.OK, so the two methods give different results because the current at the ends of the wire is not looping. If the current at the ends of the wire were looping, then the two methods would give the same result.
Istvan01
Hi,

I studied the Maxwell laws and the Biot Savart law and I found something I cannot answer.

If you have a finite wire carrying current (let say 5m long) and you want to determine the magnetic induction vector due to it at some point that has distance r from the wire, you have 2 options I think.

If you use the Biot Savart law and you integrate over the length of the wire you get an answer which is definitely less than the answer you would get if the wire would be infinite.(B=µ0*I/(2*r*
9be4ba0bb8df3af72e90a0535fabcc17431e540a
), where B is the magnetic induction vector, I is the current of the wire and r is the distance from the wire)

However if you use Ampere's law for a circle around the wire (the wire is at the center of the circle and the plane of the circle is perpendicular to the line of the wire) you get that the magnetic field is B=µ0*I/(2*r*
9be4ba0bb8df3af72e90a0535fabcc17431e540a
) since there is only the current I crossing the circle and there is no change in flux. It is the same as the magnetic field generated by an infinite long wire. So that is definitely bigger than u get from the Biot Savart law.

I can't figure out why the 2 methods don't give the same result so if you could help me out please do so. It would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Istvan

Physics news on Phys.org
Istvan01 said:
a finite wire carrying current