Made a discovery and I would like to publish it any advice?

• Thread starter xdrgnh
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Discovery
In summary, the person is a senior physics major working on a senior project with three professors. They have made a discovery related to chaos in Hamiltonian systems and driven damped pendulums that has not been found in literature. They are seeking advice on how to publish their results and what journals to submit their paper to. They have already received approval from their professors and are currently working on writing the paper using a LaTex template. They are also asking about the different style requirements for articles in different journals.
xdrgnh
I'm a senior and a physics major at a university and I'm working on my senior project with three physics professor. I made a discovery about the non linear system I am studying which I haven't found in the literature and I would like to publish it. I won't give to much details about the discovery but you can say it relates chaos in Hamiltonian systems to chaos in driven damped pendulum. Any advice on how should I go about publish my results. What type of journals would you recommended I send my paper to?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do not your professors have a prior interest? Be careful of your contract as a student and its effect on your career.

What do you mean by prior interest? When it comes to author I would have them as 2nd and 3rd authors.

Why don't you just ask the professors you're working with?

Likes Doug Huffman
Oh I did already and they were fine with the idea. I just posted on here because I like hearing a variety of opinions. Also I won't see them till next week and I want to start working on the paper right now.