M&E Engineer Needs Electrical Basics | Learn Here

In summary, as a recently graduated mechanical engineer working in a construction company, the individual is seeking advice on the basics of electrical knowledge that an ME should know. It is suggested to start with Ohm's Law and gradually expand knowledge through practical experience and guidance from an actual EE. Previous coursework in principles of electrics and electronics may provide a foundation, but real-world experience is crucial in this field.
surendran90
Im a recently graduated mechanical engineer and i just joined a construction company as an M & E engineer. i want to know the basics of electrical knowledge that a mechanical engineer should know. please advise me on this topic. i am willing to learn and expand my knowledge.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Start with Ohm's Law, then go on to bigger and better things.

Seriously though, did you learn nothing about electrical circuits in your ME curriculum? Where did you go to school?

Dr.D said:
Start with Ohm's Law, then go on to bigger and better things.

Seriously though, did you learn nothing about electrical circuits in your ME curriculum? Where did you go to school?
yeah i did. principles of electrics and electronics in my first year. I am from malaysia. my job scope involves electrical autocad layout drafting. so i think its better to be prepared.

I took two semesters of EE as an ME and have done a little bit of electrical design. Nothing in college prepares you for it, you just have to learn by doing, under the tutelage of an actual EE.

Related to M&E Engineer Needs Electrical Basics | Learn Here

1. What is an M&E Engineer?

An M&E Engineer is a professional who specializes in the design, installation, and maintenance of mechanical and electrical systems in buildings and other structures. This can include heating, ventilation, air conditioning, lighting, and other electrical systems.