Low Voltage DC Power Supplies - Why?

In summary, a low voltage dc power supply is useful because it can be used to power devices that require a smaller DC voltage, or to power devices that are intrinsically safe.
chiasm
Hi guys, first post here. I am an Electrical Engineering student (2nd year) and I have a part time job doing qualification and FMEA type work on power supplies. It's been a great learning experience and it's really helped me in my classes.

Right now, I am doing a qual on a low voltage dc (LVDC) power supply. The input for the power supply ranges from -36Vdc to -72Vdc and the output is two 12V where load current can range from 0 to 36A.

My question is, why are low voltage DC supplies used? Where is LVDC provided (i.e., what types of buildings provide LVDC)?

My understanding of other supplies is that they convert a 120Vac (or 220-240, etc.) to a smaller DC voltage. I just don't understand where a LVDC supply is useful.

I have asked at work, but there is so much bureaucratic catch-22 (very large company) that I can't seem to get a clear answer.

I've googled quite a bit but can't seem to even find anything remotely relevant, so any understanding you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Mike

Engineering news on Phys.org
chiasm said:
Hi guys, first post here. I am an Electrical Engineering student (2nd year) and I have a part time job doing qualification and FMEA type work on power supplies. It's been a great learning experience and it's really helped me in my classes.

Right now, I am doing a qual on a low voltage dc (LVDC) power supply. The input for the power supply ranges from -36Vdc to -72Vdc and the output is two 12V where load current can range from 0 to 36A.

My question is, why are low voltage DC supplies used? Where is LVDC provided (i.e., what types of buildings provide LVDC)?