'losing light' 1.25" DSLR coupling vs 2"?

In summary, the smaller the diameter of the light path near the sensor, the greater the chance that the light will be attenuated and you will see vignetting in the image. Using a 2" coupling to mount your DSLR on the scope may reduce the chance of losing light, but may also require using a mirror to see the image.
mishima
I use a 2" coupling to mount my DSLR on the scope. However, I have an 90 degree mirror angle in the 1.25" size, and would like to use it sometimes for convenience getting my eye on the viewfinder/lcd screen.

I was wondering what drawbacks, if any, there were in stepping down the diameter of the light path so close to the sensor might be. Am I going to 'clip' the light path with the smaller diameter and lose light? I've heard most modern scopes are designed for 1.25" so maybe it doesn't matter?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
mishima said:
I was wondering what drawbacks, if any, there were in stepping down the diameter of the light path so close to the sensor might be. Am I going to 'clip' the light path with the smaller diameter and lose light? I've heard most modern scopes are designed for 1.25" so maybe it doesn't matter?
The imaging chip of a DSLR is usually quite large, at least compared with cameras specially made for astrophotography. It is quite possible that the light will become attenuated near the edge of the cameras FOV. You will see this as vignetting in the image.

Thanks, I'll just try it then and look for the vignetting.

mishima said:
I use a 2" coupling to mount my DSLR on the scope. However, I have an 90 degree mirror angle in the 1.25" size, and would like to use it sometimes for convenience getting my eye on the viewfinder/lcd screen.

Would it be a daft suggestion for you to use the camera 'straight through' and tape a mirror at 45° to the back so you can see the live view picture without cricking your neck?