Looking to control all functions of a CD player, any suggestions?

In summary, the individual is seeking to use software to control the various functions of a standard computer CD player, such as the speed of rotation and the position of the sensor/laser. They are not a computer programmer and are looking for resources to help them learn how to achieve this. They may need to identify the model of their CD player and potentially use third-party software or create a custom program using coding languages. Online tutorials may be helpful in this process.
HappMatt
I am working on a project and would like to be able to control the many functions of a standard computer CD player. For example I would like to be able to control the speed of rotation, the position of the sensor/laser , when the laser fires and when the computer reads the photo diode, if I could see the value of the photo diode that would be even better though I really only expect on/off data. I am not really a computer programmer and so I am trying to figure out what I need to learn in order to figure out how to do this. I have some programming experience and if all else fails I can build something that does this though I would really like to take advantage of the existing technology as much as possible. Thus if anyone has any suggestions on sites to look at, books ,or journals or ways in which I can work towards doing this that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Technology news on Phys.org