Looking for some help with constructing a double slit experiment

In summary: I'm not aware of any practical applications, as it is more of a thought experiment. But it does have implications for our understanding of quantum mechanics and the role of the observer. It is possible to construct a single-particle diffraction lab in a private house, but it can be expensive. The phenomena being observed is diffraction, not interference, and it is possible to obtain the required materials from scientific equipment suppliers. However, experiments involving delayed choice quantum erasers tend to be more of a thought experiment than a practical application.
rpfineman
Hello, fellow physics lovers. I am an amateur physicist and am currently teaching some fellow keen amateurs about the marvels of the quantum world. After explaining the dual nature of light and conducting a very basic example of Young's double slit experiment using a laser and a sheet of card, the group, rather excitedly, decided it would be worth putting in a bit of effort to try and construct an apparatus capable of demonstrating real quantum interference and wave function collapse. Although at the time I was overjoyed by their enthusiasm I feel I have bitten off more than i can chew. Does anyone know if its possible to obtain the required materials, i.e. single photon/electron sources, barium crystals/any other usable beam spliters, mirrored glass, detector screens etc.? I know Its asking a lot but any info is greatly appreciated. :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
You can obtain this sort of equipment from scinetific equipment suppliers ... however, some of the experiments you are likely to want to try will be very expensive. You should try to narrow down you requirements to the properties you want to demonstrate.