Looking for Good Fluid Dynamics Book

In summary, the individual is a first year graduate student in physics and is looking for a book on fluid dynamics that is more physics-oriented than engineering-oriented. They have a strong mathematical and physics foundation and are looking for an introduction to the subject at an intermediate undergraduate level. Recommendations include "Physical Fluid Dynamics" by Tritton, lecture notes from top universities, and old books such as "Foundations of Radiation Hydrodynamics" by Mihalas.
McCoy13
I know this question has been asked plenty of times, but nonetheless I wanted to get some recommendations that might better jive with my situation than other the other threads I've read about this topic.

I'm a first year grad student in physics that hasn't had a course in fluid dynamics, but really enjoys that field (I've been to a couple conferences and done some research using a fluid system). I'm going to be starting a research project soon in fluids, and I want to read up on it so I'm a bit more knowledgeable about the context of my project.

I'm looking for a book that is more physics-oriented than engineering-oriented. I've enjoyed books by Griffiths, Schroeder, and Strogatz. Standards like Landau, Goldstein/Poole/Safko, and Jackson have been okay but feel a little less pedagogical (almost more like an apprenticeship than a course). I'd like something that's relatively brief and broad, sort of an at an intermediate undergraduate level. I have a strong mathematical and physics foundation, but ultimately I am still looking for an introduction to the subject.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org