Looking for empirical equation in experimental data

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of empirical equations in engineering research and the challenges in finding the most accurate model. Suggestions are made to include interaction terms and use linear algebra to find the closest approximation. The use of higher order terms is also suggested to improve the correlation between the estimated and measured data.
Curran919
I am an engineer student working in nuclear research. I am performing some experiments looking for an empirical equation to apply to results in a test section, but am having trouble making a mental leap. Here is the core of the problem with all of the engineering 'fat' trimmed off:

I have a variable with three dependents:
G = f(A,B,C)

I have shown that G is more or less linear WRT each variable for multiple values of the other variables (sorry, I'm an undergrad engineer, mathematic notation is lacking):
G=f(A) of O(1) for every B,C
G=f(B) of O(1) for every A,C
G=f(C) of O(1) for every A,B

I would like to say that because of this,
G = f(A)+g(B)+h(C)
or even,
G = aA+bB+cC+d where a,b,c,d are constants

but this would only be true if the slope of f(A) where constant regardless of B,C (and the same for f(B)/f(C)). Of course, it isn't. Is what I've said correct, and if so, is there an alternative conclusion I can make?

G = (A-a)(B-b)(C-c)?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
A common model for empirical work is the linear model. Where things don't fit so well, the experimenter can include interaction terms. Thus, the model might be (for two independent variables x and y)

z = a*x + b*y + c*x*y

The a, b, and c are constants are need to be fit to the data. You might check some books on the Design of Experiments, as such modeling is often done in that context.