Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Looking for a place to get what things equal

schinb65

Jan 1, 2013
I am studying for an actuary exam. It has been years since I took a Stats/probability class. I am not really sure where I can find formulas that are the same.

I have this $Pr(a\cap h^c)$, so i believe that I can say $Pr(a\cap 1-h)$ is that true?

The solution has this:
$Pr((a\cap h^c)$ = $(a-h)$ = $(a-(a \cap h))$

So, if what I have is true, how can I go for $Pr(a\cap 1-h)$ to $(a-(a \cap h))$?

I was kind of hoping in the solution can be explained, or if any links where I would be able to see that the solution works as well as others so that I can review what I have forgotten over the years.

Thank you.

schinb65

Jan 1, 2013
I am studying for an actuary exam. It has been years since I took a Stats/probability class. I am not really sure where I can find formulas that are the same.

I have this $Pr(a\cap h^c)$, so i believe that I can say $Pr(a\cap 1-h)$ is that true?

The solution has this:

So, if what I have is true, how can I go for $Pr(a\cap 1-h)$ to $(a-(a \cap h))$?

I was kind of hoping in the solution can be explained, or if any links where I would be able to see that the solution works as well as others so that I can review what I have forgotten over the years.

Thank you.
I think I got it, I can say this correct?
$Pr(A)= Pr(A\cap H) + Pr(a\cap H^c)$
Thus if I use algebra I can work it around to get $Pr(A)-Pr(A \cap H)=Pr((A\cap H^c)$

Amer

Mar 1, 2012

The solution has this:

Thank you.
I will show
[tex] a \cap h^c = a - h [/tex]
first you have to know what
[tex] a - h [/tex] means all elements in "a" except the elements in h ( i.e elements in the intersection of a and h )
I will use ven diagrams in the attachment, the red circle denote to h, yellow denote to a the square denote to the field or omega (Probability space)
in the first square a-h, i remove from "a" the intersection so the half moon resulted