Linear Dynamics Help: friction and horizontal force

In summary: The times listed are:t0:0000t1:.0915t2:.1721The force of friction between the fence and the ground is .667 Newtons.
Solemony

Homework Statement

I've been having some problems trying to do a few lab questions for my physics class, I'm not very good at it but I do try to make the best of it so anyone that's willing to help me give me any pointers would be awesome. I have two physics problem and I'm supposed to do them online and I've provided snapshots of them as well:

1. A three-picket fence of mass 422 grams is pulled by a constant force of 0.667 N on a rough surface as shown in the animation. Find the magnitude of the force of friction in Newtons.

2. A three-picket fence is pulled by a constant-force spring over a horizontal frictionless surface as shown in the animation. The mass of glider + fence is 563 grams and the hanging mass is 49.5 grams. Find the magnitude of the horizontal force exerted by the pulling hand in Newtons.

Homework Equations

For (1) I know the equation for force of friction =μN and N=mg but I'm not sure how to obtain "μ" based on the animation provided.

For (2) The net force on the hanging mass would be T-m2g=m2a and the hands that's pulling the glider and fence would be T=m1a, since the force that's pulling it is Tension.
So, the a=m2/(m1+m2)g, so once we found the acceleration we can plug in the "a" to F=m1a, to find the horizontal force?
I have attached the pictures in this thread for better visualization as well. The picture shown that the glider have already passed the photogate, thus it shows the the gate time on it.

Attachments

• Picture 3.png
    Picture 3.png
    14.4 KB · Views: 431
  • Picture 4.png
    Picture 4.png
    15.2 KB · Views: 407
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Solemony said: