Line Integrals Complex Numbers

In summary, the conversation is about studying line integrals over a simple closed curve and the individual is having trouble with parametrizing the curve. They are seeking help and resources for this topic.
chota
Hi,

I am currently studying complex numbers and I am at the part we have to find line integrals over a simple closed curve gamma(t)..

I know the definition, but when i read a problem I am n ot sure how to parameratize the curve. I was wondering if there are some tricks to this. Would anyone be able to direct me to some useful site about this topic, any help would be appreciated (test in a couple of days)

THank You

ChoTa

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi chota,

Can you give an example of exactly where you are getting stuck at? Then maybe someone will be able to either help or point you to some helpful resources.

eng

Hello ChoTaeng,

Line integrals involving complex numbers can be tricky, but there are some helpful tips and tricks that can make them easier to solve. First, make sure you understand the definition of a line integral and how it relates to complex numbers. This will give you a better understanding of what you are trying to find.

When it comes to parametrizing the curve, there are a few approaches you can take. One method is to use the standard parametrization of a curve, which is usually given in the problem. Another method is to use a parametrization that simplifies the calculations, such as using polar coordinates or a trigonometric function.

I would recommend practicing with different types of curves and parametrizations to get a better understanding of how they work. You can also look for online resources or textbooks that provide examples and explanations of line integrals involving complex numbers.