Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Limit of the function

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
I know i asked similar questions multiple times,but again i have a problem,seems im not good with roots.....
I have to calculate the following limit:

\(\displaystyle \lim_{x \to 0} \frac{\sqrt{1+x}-\sqrt{1-x}}{x}\)

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012
What do you get if you try substituting $x=0$ into the expression?

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
What do you get if you try substituting $x=0$ into the expression?
I get $0$ of course...so i know i should do some operations,so i get rid of the x in the denumerator.

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012
I get $0$ of course...so i know i should do some operations,so i get rid of the x in the denumerator.
You actually get \(\displaystyle \frac{0}{0}\), and this is a dreaded indeterminate form. So, since you have seen problems like this before, what would you say we need to do to get it into a determinate form? What would be a good strategy?

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
You actually get \(\displaystyle \frac{0}{0}\), and this is a dreaded indeterminate form. So, since you have seen problems like this before, what would you say we need to do to get it into a determinate form? What would be a good strategy?
maybe to move the roots somehow into the denumerator?

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012
To multiply with \(\displaystyle \sqrt{1+x}-\sqrt{1-x}\) ?
No, you want to use the conjugate of the numerator, this way the radicals will disappear from the numerator.

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
No, you want to use the conjugate of the numerator, this way the radicals will disappear from the numerator.
How?

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012
\(\displaystyle 1-x\) ??
Im stupid it seems.....