Life as a Physicist or Engineer

In summary, the work environment and nature of work for a physicist and an engineer can vary depending on the specific field and concentration. Electrical engineering is a popular choice for those interested in electronics and robotics, with opportunities for research and work in related fields such as control systems. However, robotics encompasses a combination of mechanics, electronics, and computer science, and most people focus on one aspect of it rather than trying to specialize in all areas. Overall, there are many exciting possibilities for those interested in pursuing a career in these fields.
sloan13
I am a college freshman, and I was just wondering what the work environment and nature of work was like for a physicist and an engineer. I am most interested in hearing about all types of physicists (but I find particle physics fascinating) and electrical and mechanical engineer but all other input is appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
sloan13 said:
I am a college freshman, and I was just wondering what the work environment and nature of work was like for a physicist and an engineer. I am most interested in hearing about all types of physicists (but I find particle physics fascinating) and electrical and mechanical engineer but all other input is appreciated.

I talk some about EE work in this bio thread:

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=684732

:smile:

I think electrical engineering is cool, but I am not as interested in things radio, transceivers, comm transformers, and power circuits. I am more into electronics, like heads up displays, mp3 players, and stuff. I am most interested in robotics though. I think it is so cool. Is robotics and electronics possible with an electrical engineering degree?

There is a program that some universities are getting into it; it is called mechatronics.

It is a cross between electrical and mechanical engineering. I think it is mostly designed for robotics.