Lie groups & Lie Algebras in Nuclear & Particle Physics

In summary, the speaker is a student of Nuclear Engineering at the University of Dhaka and is working on a thesis on the application of Lie groups and Lie algebras in Nuclear and Particle Physics. They are seeking guidance on their thesis topic and are recommended to read "Lie Algebras in Particle Physics" by H. Georgi and to also research Yang-Mills theory.
abs.manik
Hi,
I'm a student of Nuclear Engineering (MS level) at University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. I completed my Honours and Master Degree with Mathematics. I have chosen to complete a thesis paper on "Application of Lie groups & Lie Algebras in Nuclear & Particle Physics."

I need some guideline about my thesis work from experienced guys like you. Please suggest me about this title. How can I adorn my paper with useful material? Which topics should I describe or include in my paper. Please, whoever knows a little or more about my title, leave your valuable comment or suggestion.

Thanks in advance,
Manik

Physics news on Phys.org
You should read "Lie Algebras in Particle Physics" by H. Georgi. In my opinion is one of the best books on group theory for physicist.
However, one of the most famous application of Lie groups in physics is represented by Yang-Mills theory. You should definitely take a look at something on that.

Related to Lie groups & Lie Algebras in Nuclear & Particle Physics

1. What are Lie groups and Lie algebras?

Lie groups and Lie algebras are mathematical structures that are used to describe symmetries in physics. Lie groups are continuous groups of transformations that preserve the structure of a mathematical object, while Lie algebras are the corresponding vector spaces that describe the infinitesimal generators of these transformations.

2. How are Lie groups and Lie algebras used in nuclear and particle physics?