Is It Necessary to Disprove Other Theories in Order to Prove One Correct?

• Thread starter scott_sieger
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Theory
In summary, the conversation discusses the process of proving a theory in conventional physics and the importance of considering existing theories and experimental evidence. It is mentioned that a theory cannot be proved correct, only falsified, and the importance of understanding observed behavior in developing a theory is emphasized. The conversation also addresses the need for a theory to comply with experiments and acknowledge the perspectives of others in the field.
scott_sieger
Hi guys, just seeking opinions and discussion,

As I am new to the realms of conventional physics I just thought I'd ask a question to help me understand the processes.

To prove a theory correct means that you have to prove every one elses theories wrong. Is this a true statement?

If so then most of the theoretical work you have to do is pulling other theories apart and disproving them.

Physics news on Phys.org
Originally posted by scott_sieger
As I am new to the realms of conventional physics I just thought I'd ask a question to help me understand the processes.
No.
If so then most of the theoretical work you have to do is pulling other theories apart and disproving them.
No.

The vast majority of new theoretical work builds on existing theories. If only at the most basic level, a new theory MUST start with some existing theory.

A good describtion of a theory is here:

http://www.wilstar.net/theories.htm

Also: http://www.m-w.com/cgi-bin/dictionary?book=Dictionary&va=hypothesis

HYPOTHESIS implies insufficient evidence to provide more than a tentative explanation <a hypothesis explaining the extinction of the dinosaurs>.
THEORY implies a greater range of evidence and greater likelihood of truth <the theory of evolution>.