Learning real analysis without linear algebra?

In summary: Unless you have a really good reason not to, I would strongly recommend that you take a linear algebra course if you want to study physics in a more in-depth way.
Quantumcom
Well, I am a second year astrophysics student in the UK. However, I want to go for a PHD in theoretical physics after my graduation. So I believe I have to take more maths modules as much as possible. I have taken mathematical techniques 1 and 2 which cover up to vector calculus, differential equations, Fourier series and bit complex analysis (up to contour integration). I can't take real analysis module formally as I didn't take linear algebra in my first year (Initially I thought of go for astrophysics). But I am going to just listen to the lectures. What do you recommend the best for me? What topics should I learn in particular before lectures begin?

Cheers!

Physics news on Phys.org
Wait... you are going to take linear algebra, right? You just won't have the time to take analysis after it? If you will have the time later, just take it then.

Did you get a decent amount of topology in your complex analysis class? I actually haven't taken analysis, but I've taken a topology class and a complex class. My friends in real analysis always seemed bewildered by the basic notions of topology. You can find baby Rudin online and skim the pages as a good guide to what you'll cover.

Have you done much in the way of proofs in your classes? Understanding set notation and logic will be important.

''Wait... you are going to take linear algebra, right?''

No, I am going to take real analysis. I haven't taken linear algebra yet, but hope to study on my own, only the essential stuff though, as I don't have much time.

No, not topology and I don't think I have done much proofs either, my bad. :(

There are probably better people to weigh in on this, but I'll keep going anyway.